• 2016 Kirsten Volness, desangramiento
  • 2015 Matt McCabe, somewhere**
  • 2015 Chris Chandler, Recast Fragments**
  • 2015 Heather Stebbins, and drift**
  • 2015 Jennifer Bernard Merkowitz, Les Crapauds de la Fontaine**
  • 2008 Ken Ueno One by one, I collect the fragments of my song from harmonies which abound in the air unheard
  • 2008 Toivo Tulev Above*
  • 2007 Frances White the ocean inside*
  • 2006 Michael Barnhart Blue Mess*
  • 2006 Ashley Fure Susurrus*
  • 2005 Stephen Vitiello Rush and Lullaby*
  • 2005 Paul Rudy for whom...*
  • 2005 Evan Chambers longing for peace in the garden of lost children*
  • 2005 Paul Lansky Ancient Echoes*
  • 2003 Peter Gilbert Blow, Bugle, Blow
  • 2002 Natasha Barrett Prince Prospero's Party

  • ** UR alumns * commissioned by Third Practice for Eighth Blackbird

    In 2005, Third Practice commissioned 13 artists to create new works for release on [re], a surround-sound DVD-Audio disc:

    Mark Applebaum
    Benjamin Broening
    Kristine Burns
    Alessandro Cipriani
    John Gibson
    Colby Leider
    Mason Bates
    Matthew McCabe
    Larry Polansky
    Ricardo Climent
    Stephen Vitiello
    Mark Wingate

    These artists were asked to consider the relationship between contemporary electroacoustic music and the musical past. To what degree does new technology suggests new modes of musical expression? To what extent do new techniques of music production and dissemination represent a break with received notions of musical composition and consumption? Or is it perhaps more accurate to think of electroacoustic music as a continuation of a shared musical heritage?

    That there is no simple answer to these questions reflects the richness and diversity of technical and aesthetic approaches to electroacoustic music. These brief pieces reflect, reinterpret, comment, recompose or reconsider past musical compositional techniques, practices, specific works, genres, styles, forms, practices, concerns in light of electroacoustic music. The works were premiered at the 2006 Festival and are available on the Everglade label.

    In 2001, Third Practice released Third Practice: Commissions and Premieres on CD, available from Centaur Records. Composers featured on the CD are Benjamin Broening, Matthew McCabe, Russell Pinkston, Natasha Barrett, Peter Gilbert, and Mindy Christensen. Commissions and Premieres can be purchased from Amazon or directly from Centaur Records.